Uncategorized

Summer Song 2015 and Documentary Discovery

With the Summer officially in full swing, I have the most undoubted feeling that the song of the summer is “The Avener’s” Fade Out Lines. It has the catch, the hooks, it reels you in with this club, and electronic dance vibe. “The Avener”, featuring Charlotte OC, both are also French, and are now making it big in the U.S.A. The song however came out on January 20th and hasn’t caught much buzz until the last few months. Does that count? I say sure why not. I still believe the song holds some light to be known as a song that will catch fire all around. You could easily say the past few years have had no doubters. 2013’s Get Lucky by “Daft Punk” feat. “Pharrel” was nothing but net with the song of the summer. This year though I believe it cuts close, I can’t see any that stand out as much as “The Avener’s” Fade Out Lines.

51ZwncaDTJL._SL500_AA280_.jpg (280×280)

Another being close might be “Saint Motel’s” My Type. It has the sounds that boom with harmony, and the full out chorus really makes you want to bring back memories. When I hear this song I always say “I swear I thought I heard this song before, somewhere.”

Saint_Motel_My_Type-1024x1024.jpg (1024×1024)

Now with that being out of the way time to switch to movies. I was watching TV the other day, and I happened to come across this absolutely stunning story on 20/20. A story about 6 boys living in a New York apartment for 14 years. When I say they were living in the apartment they were literally living in the apartment. Completely shut off from the outside world, no connections, not even a walk outside. Home schooled, everything inside and away from everything. The boy’s fathers had very controlling and obsessive beliefs on keeping his children away from any harm. To the most extreme you can possibly get. On an occasion, once every year their father would let them venture out, but it was so seldom they could not even recollect it. The boys ended up spending most of their 14 years within the apartment watching movies, and watching them all day long. Movies found them as their only revenue of entertainment. The boys would watch over and over, from “Pulp Fiction” to “Good Fellas” to “The Dark Knight”. They would get to the point to where they would re enact each movie and write down the scripts verbatim to each of the movie’s screenplays. Each and every line, to each and every choreographed punch. This would get to the point where they would make props out of cereal boxes. Make documented videos with being as creative as possible. My description doesn’t do the documentary justice, it’s just something that you have to simply see for yourself. The name of these boys are known as “The Wolf Pack”. The documentary is now playing in select theaters. To be honest I have never heard a story anything like this, so I will definitely watch this. This movie has been out for a while, but is another one of those stories that is getting acknowledgement now I feel. I am surprised I’m hearing about it this late, since it’s release date was in January. Nonetheless, it doesn’t shy away from how unreal this story is.

The-Wolfpack-010.jpg (620×372)

Standard

Leave a Reply

