Cover Songs, music

My Top 5 Cover Songs of All Time

It’s Thursday, so it’s a “Throwback Thursday”. Which means I would like to reminisce and not only reminisce, but also on the bands that cared to reminisce on the best cover songs of all time.

5. Trampled By Turtles- Rebellion Lies

I added a song originally done by Arcade Fire. The original is amazing to begin with, but I wanted to add this song. I felt the passion deeply and effortlessly. They brought it as their own and for my own top five why the hell not? Starting out not cliche for once.

4. Marvin Gaye and Creedance Clearwater Revival– Heard it Through the Grapevine

This song is like a cover of a cover. Originally done by Smokey Joe Robinson, which was rejected a couple of times. Then Marvin Gaye made it his own and made the best of it. Here’s CCR covering it with such grace. Since both did a cover I’m calling ties both are at 4.

3. The Man Who Sold the World- Nirvana

Uplugged Nirvana it is my favorite version of the song and it’s just so calming and more understood from Cobain for some reason. I think the way Cobain plays it out it has some sentimental value, that may not be there with Bowie’s version. That’s what I feel anyway.

2. All along the Watchtower- Jimi Hendrix

For a long time I was only a fan of Bob Dylan’s original. The more I heard the more I realize Jimi put more spice and fun into it. Mixing his out of this world ability to play guitar and sing in a tune that is so opposite to Dylan’s. Well done.

1 Hurt- Johnny Cash

Originally done by Nine Inch Nails. Cash’s version is much more heartfelt and just devastating. Listening to it you feel that Cash is hurt, in more ways than one. Coming from Cash there’s no doubt it feels like there’s more history in his life to say this. Thus being the best cover.

Standard

Leave a Reply

