music, Observations, Old Music Fans, Subjective Tastes

Records Resurgence Observation

From what I have observed, it seems to me that vinyl is back. However it never went away as much as we all like to admit it. This year I came to make the jump back to my old record player, but as it seemed to me so aren’t a lot of other people. I don’t want to be here to tell you that vinyl is making the biggest comeback and blah blah blah but it’s merely my observation. I’ve certainly noticed this year more than ever that records are still being sold and still holds a sentimental demographic.

I feel in the eyes of  old music fans and of course hipsters that vinyl has always been the answer. Well I definitely can agree.

I agree on the levels of tangibility and crisp sound of what a record makes. I’m not a huge collector of records, but I’m coming along. I more or less scavenger hunt for old records at GoodWill shops and flee markets. I guess I look for those hidden gems.

I respect this media the most out of any music medium, but how can you not?

Vinyl is making a bigger resurgence than ever because of social media and it’s being held on to more and more. Lots of my friends are big record fans and collect them as their ultimate passion.

Downloaded music from iTunes, Spotify, and Pandora may be the biggest booming medium as for music these days. That still doesn’t stop the people I know. It also doesn’t help that there’s a demographic of “hipsters” that take the heat of trying to be postmodern and ironic with their record players to make it a comeback. Nevertheless this has helped the music industry a ton, and having a good taste in a form of music in any way is nothing to be ashamed about, after all it’s all subjective.

Vinyl may have never went away but I feel it’s being recognized for the first time since the turn of the century. Walkmans took over through the 80’s. CD players reigned through the 90’s and vinyl has always been taken to the back burner, but the recognition of vinyl comes in a sentimental way. The rejoicing feeling of being at the own comfort of your home in nostalgic value comes with a turntable and a timeless record. Bringing back those moments mean so much to people and I can understand why in a world where you have nearly a million songs downloaded on your phone.  

Screen-Shot-2015-05-14-at-2.53.49-PM.png (717×467)

Standard

Leave a Reply

