Albums, fun, good beats, Indie, Indie Music, music

IndieBall’s Favorite Sleeper Albums

I’ve always had the desire to write about underrated albums. The albums that was in my opinion of course, I wanted to finally. Of course it goes without saying bands such as the Beatles, Led Zeppelin can be already assumed onto this list, but of course here are the “un-assumable”.

Low- David Bowie

I always enjoyed the sounds of David Bowie, and gave potential to all of his albums, but then finding his Hunky Dory, and Low albums I grew to like him even more with his artistic ability. Low brings something so different that I can’t quite put my finger on.

Dear Catastrophe Waitress- Belle and Sebastian

Sing a song about Mike Piazza and you’ve got a hit. No pun intended, yeah really though this album is something and good relaxing symphonic sounds.

Funeral- Arcade Fire

Over ten years ago this album didn’t feel as appreciated until years after, thank you movie Where The Wild Things Are. I mean that sarcastically and also seriously, after the release of that movie it seems that Wake Up has blossomed once again for an encore. Neon Bible I found good but not as enjoyable. The latest albums have been a hit I feel. But looking Back to Funeral, I feel that banked a ton of their success.

Ga-Ga-Ga-Ga- Spoon

I still am a huge fan of this album. This album broke me into Spoon, and took me by surprise. The Underdog put in the catchy and fun loving feeling of my then 8th grader self. The album altogether clashes so brilliantly, it felt like there was some attitude and newly found spunk while making this. Also with original sounds and clashes.

Swing Lo Magellan- Dirty Projectors

Such an abstract, and peaceful album. I listen to this to really just unwind, but thanks to the song no trigger it broke me into their perspective and sound. With the song’s album title Swing Lo Magellan has a dare I say “Kink’s sound” to it and is rhythmically brilliant.

Here- Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

I found after their Up From Below album in 2009 with their hit song “Home” I drew immediate interest, but I also found the following album to be greater success in my ears. I just love the nostalgic sound, and while altogether the folk inspirations are there with an almost tunneling sound to “One Love To Another”. My favorite off the album is Dear Believer, as well as Child. You hear so much about “Up From Below” That you can’t realize that “Here” equally rivals it.

Midnite Vultures- Beck

This album seems to have gotten so much bad hype from the time of it’s release. With not taken seriously lyrics and such phony taste in music. I completely and entirely disagree this album is genious and just another level of talent to mark for Beck. While I will admit I recently listened to the full album for the first time ever this past month. Beforehand all I knew was “Sexx Laws”, it’s funky, groovy, and really fun. Hard to believe this album was just before his at the time most serious album in Sea Change. I love it.

Circuital- My Morning Jacket

This got me into My Morning Jacket, no question about it. Before I liked the song Gold, and Holiday but the whole album just incredible.

Doolittle- Pixies

Debasser! Here Comes Your Man! The song Hey is my favorite. So much mmph to this group. This broke me into the Pixies, memorable in every way.

Klaxons- Golden Skans

Listening to this album time and time again has made me question why their undicovered talents by many are so under viewed. This album is a nice surprise, and this song Of course.

Meddle- Pink Floyd

I love, love, love Meddle. Short but sweet. Beautious sounds, it’s the bridge album to get to Dark Side. It helped craft their Physchodelic days. Pillow of Winds is so beautiful, and as well as Fearless. It is so uplifing and has all the right messages. Ahhh.

Standard

Leave a Reply

